Sports, Football, Fall

2014 Spring Football Roster Released

After a few weeks of practices, Boston College football released its 2014 spring roster today. Notable non-seniors absent from the roster include Nigel Matthews, Al Louis-Jean, Spiffy Evans, Christian Suntrup, Mack Lowrie, Austin Lommen, Tahj Kimble, Spenser Rositano, Kieran Borcich, Win Homer, Brian Miller, C.J. Parsons, Dominic Appiah and Marcus Grant. The list includes a combination of players who decided not to return to the team or are injured for spring practice, according to BC. Head coach Steve Addazio was not immediately available to comment.

BC has three quarterbacks listed, including senior transfer Tyler Murphy, freshman duel-threat Darius Wade, and redshirt freshman James Walsh. Senior Josh Bordner—formerly a quarterback—is listed as a wide receiver.

Myles Willis, David Dudeck, and Tyler Rouse compose the spring running back corps, and each is on the smaller side—none is listed at more than 200 pounds.

The returning wide receivers illustrate a huge deficiency in depth and experience. Of the eight returning, just two caught a pass in the 2013 season. Juniors Harrison Jackson and Dan Crimmins combined for 15 total receptions, 115 yards, and one touchdown in 2013—Crimmins had 10 catches and Jackson had five. Senior Bobby Swigert, who has registered more than 1,200 career receiving yards, is also listed on the roster. He has not played since suffering a season-ending injury in Nov. 2012.

Junior Joey Launceford and sophomore Jake Wilhelm are listed as kickers, with junior Alex Howell listed as a punter/kicker. Howell was the only member of the trio to see action in 2013, playing in one game and registering a 60 yard kickoff.

March 26, 2014