News, On Campus, Top Story

Simons, Patel, Ulrich Continue on in Race to be UGBC President

After the primary election for Undergraduate Government of Boston College president, three out of the original six teams will continue on to the general election: Russell Simons, MCAS ’17, and Meredith McCaffrey, MCAS ’17, Nikita Patel, CSOM ’17, and Joseph Arquillo, LSOE ’17, and Matthew Ulrich, MCAS ’17, and John Miotti, MCAS ’17.

“We are excited and extremely humbled to be moving forward in the election process,” Arquillo said. “Progressing to the final voting on April 1 is a reflection of the fact that students are looking for a student government that is accessible, serviceable, and relevant.”

UGBC’s Diversity and Inclusion branch will hold a Town Hall to discuss issues of inclusivity and diversity on campus on March 30, the night before the general election voting begins. The questions for this debate will be drafted by diversity groups, including the AHANA Leadership Council and the GLTBQ Leadership Council.

“Meredith and I are extremely happy to be moving on to the general election,” Simons said. “We’re humbled and grateful that so many students are interested in our ideas and mission, and we’re looking forward to the last few days of campaigning.”

The final voting for president and executive vice president will take place from March 31 to April 1.

“Matt and I cannot thank our supporters enough,” Miotti said. “We believe our message of stronger school spirit resonates with the student body and we are optimistic about the upcoming general election. We will continue to work hard to establish a greater sense of community at Boston College.”

Featured Image by Drew Hoo / Heights Editor

March 23, 2016