Arts, Review, Music

Taylor Swift, Justin Bieber, and More Release Singles

“You All Over Me” — Taylor Swift feat. Maren Morris


After announcing in 2019 that she plans to re-record her first six albums, Taylor Swift is currently in the process of re-recording her 2008 album Fearless. In addition, Swift will include six songs cut from the original Fearless album that have never been released. The first of these songs is “You All Over Me,” which was released Friday. Produced by The National’s Aaron Dessner and co-written by Scooter Carusoe, the song shows Swift returning to her country roots. Taking her fans back to the early days of her career, she achingly sings, “The way tires turn stone on old county roads / They leave ’em muddy underneath, they remind me of you.” The single features acoustic guitar paired with nostalgic lyrics as Swift sings about the emotional traces of lost love. As Swift said in a recent tweet, “One thing I’ve been loving about these From The Vault songs is that they’ve never been heard, so I can experiment, play, and even include some of my favorite artists.” One of these artists is Maren Morris, who sings the backing vocals on the track. The rest of the album will be released on April 9.  

“Lifetime” — Justin Bieber 


Justin Bieber dropped a surprise deluxe edition of Justice, his widely successful sixth studio album released the previous week. The set includes six bonus tracks and features collaborations with Lil Uzi Vert, Jaden Smith, Quavo, DaBaby, and Tori Kelly. Bieber sings solo in “Lifetime,” a charming love song where he says, “They say you know when you know, well I know / I know you’re the one.” 

“Only a Song” — Van Morrison


Van Morrison released “Only a Song” from his upcoming album, Latest Record Project: Volume 1. This 28-track collection, set to be released on May 7, will be Morrison’s 42nd studio album. This tune encompasses the traditional soulful jazz sound Morrison is known for, including vintage organ backings and spirited saxophone solos. 

Photo Courtesy of Big Machine Records

March 28, 2021